Breaking News
More () »

Washington, DC's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Washington, DC | WUSA9.com

Could Max Scherzer win his 4th Cy Young Award?

Scherzer is among three finalists in the National League for the award, which he has been nominated for every season since 2013.

WASHINGTON — On Monday, the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced the 2019 National League Cy Young Award finalists, and Max Scherzer made the list once again. Alongside him are finalists Hyun-Jin Ryu from the Los Angeles Dodgers and New York Mets Jacob deGrom, who won last year.

Scherzer is not a stranger when it comes to the Cy Young Award -- in fact, he already has three wins under his belt. He was also a runner up behind Jacob deGrom last year, which could make this year's nomination an interesting rematch. 

Credit: AP
In this July 25, 2019, file photo, Washington Nationals starting pitcher Max Scherzer throws to the Colorado Rockies during a baseball game in Washington. Three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer says he is “ready to get in a game” for the Washington Nationals and come off the injured list. Scherzer played catch at Nationals Park on Wednesday, Aug. 14. a day after throwing the equivalent of about two innings in a simulated game, and said he felt able to return to action from a back muscle problem. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky, File)

The finalists for the award are just the candidates who secured the top three spots in the voting -- meaning a pitcher can still receive votes towards a Cy Young but not become a finalist. Scherzer has been nominated for a Cy Young every season since 2013 -- but since he did not rank in the top 3 in 2014 and 2015, he was unable to win. The finalists are the only candidates actually eligible for the Cy Young award itself.

Scherzer's first Cy Young came when he was pitching in the American league in 2013, winning his second Cy Young just three years later as a National. His second win in 2016 made him the sixth pitcher to win the award in both the National and American League, and by the time Scherzer won his third Cy Young in 2017, he was the 10th pitcher in history to win the award at least three times. 

So yeah, he's done this before.

RELATED: Wise | The key to the Nationals World Series Game 7 win? Max Scherzer

Credit: AP
Oct 13, 2016; Washington, DC, USA; Washington Nationals starting pitcher Max Scherzer (31) prepares to pitch during the fifth inning against the Los Angeles Dodgers during game five of the 2016 NLDS playoff baseball game at Nationals Park. Mandatory Credit: Brad Mills-USA TODAY Sports

What he hasn't done before last week, however, is win a World Series.

Scherzer made it clear in the past that what he really was after was a Commissioners' Trophy. 

"There's a lot of people that had a role into this ... getting multiple Cy Youngs, I understand that, but that's not what motivates me to go out there and continue to pitch," Scherzer said in 2017. "Trying to win a World Series is what this is all about."

So while the winner of the Cy Young won't be announced until Nov. 13, it looks like Scherzer is taking good care of the hardware he already has.  

WATCH: Scherzer reflects on his 2017 Cy Young Award win at Nationals Winterfest.

What is the Cy Young Award?

There are several coveted awards denoted in the MLB, with a winner chosen in both the American League and the National League. Such awards include the Golden Glove, Manager of the Year, Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player and then the Cy Young. 

The Cy Young Award is given to the best pitcher in each league and was first introduced in 1956 in honor of the Hall of Fame pitcher the award is named after. Young made records for all-time innings pitched and was the first to throw a pitch in the World Series, as he started in Game 1 of the 1903 World Series. 

While the award was originally given only to one pitcher, the league decided to honor a pitcher from each of the two leagues in 1967. 

The winners for the Cy Young Award are voted on before the postseason, partially in an effort to not be swayed by specific memorable performances during postseason games.

Credit: AP
Cleveland Indians pitcher Cy Young poses in this undated photo at an unknown location. Young made his major league debut in 1890 and pitched for five teams during his 22-year career. The right-hand pitcher, winner of more major league games than any other pitcher, threw 749 complete games and won 511 games, both records. Young was elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1937. He was born in 1867 and died in 1955. The Cy Young Award was created in 1956 to honor the best major league pitcher annually. (AP Photo)

So, how are the winners decided?

The award for each league is voted on by two members of the Baseball Writers Association of America in each league city where there's a team, making 30 voters for each award. 

Since the 2010 season, each writer places a vote for the first, second, third, fourth and fifth place pitchers of each league. Those five pitchers are then placed on a ballot. Of the five names on the ballot, the three with the most votes are considered finalists.

To determine the final score, a weighted sum of the votes is calculated. The pitcher with the highest score in each league wins the award, and if two players are tied, then they share it.

Currently, Roger Clemens holds the most Cy Youngs at 7.

RELATED: Max Scherzer wins 2016 NL Cy Young award

Credit: AP
Boston Red Sox's Rick Porcello's Cy Young Award trophy is seen before a baseball game between the Boston Red Sox and the Pittsburgh Pirates in Boston, Wednesday, April 5, 2017. (AP Photo/Michael Dwyer)

RELATED: Here's how much money the World Series teams could each take home

Download the brand new WUSA9 app here.

Sign up for the Get Up DC newsletter: Your forecast. Your commute. Your news.