FREDERICK COUNTY, Md. (WUSA9) — For the month of April, Maryland State Police are rolling out an initiative to tackle distracted driving in Frederick County.
State troopers will be using marked and unmarked cars, along with electronic sign boards with the phrases, "Park the Cell Phone, Before You Drive," and "Park the Phone, Don't Text and Drive" to help enforce distracted driving laws.
Driver distractions include:
- Using a cell phone or smartphone
- Eating and drinking
- Talking to passengers
- Reading, including maps
- Using a navigation system
- Watching a video
- Adjusting a radio, CD player, or MP3 player
Distracted driving is the leading cause of death for 1 out of 4 crashes nationally.
In the state of Maryland, drivers are only allowed to use their phone while driving to accept or decline incoming calls. The fine for distracted driving is $83 for a first offense, $140 for a second offense, and $180 for a third offense.