WASHINGTON (WUSA9)--March 15, 2016 marks Bruce Johnson's 40th anniversary as a reporter and anchor at WUSA9. He anchors the weeknight 6 p.m. and 7 p.m. newscasts; however, Bruce can also be seen regularly covering local politics and breaking news stories.

"I'll always be a reporter first, it's in my DNA," he says.

Bruce has won 20 Emmys including the prestigious Ted Yates award which is only given with a unanimous vote of the NATAS Board of Governors.

He's been inducted into the Society of Professional Journalist's Hall of Fame, the NATAS Silver Circle, and the Washington D.C. Hall of Fame.

On Tuesday DC Mayor Muriel Bowser issued a Letter of Appreciation in honor of Bruce. In part it reads, “As you celebrate this very special occasion, I thank you for your contributions in the field of journalism and wish you all the best, always.”

Bruce has also been honored with a Proclamation by former DC Mayor Tony Williams. This Proclamation recognized Bruce’s many years of reporting on District of Columbia issues. Bruce was also given a Resolution from the DC City Council.

Bruce’s community service and volunteer awards number well into the hundreds.

This veteran broadcast journalist has traveled the world on special assignment for WUSA9. Bruce has filed special reports and produced award winning documentaries from Moscow, Paris, Stockholm, Budapest, Tokyo, Dakar, Bangkok, earthquake ravaged Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Beijing, Shanghai and Rome.

In 1992, while on assignment for WUSA9, Bruce suffered a sudden and massive heart attack.

Bruce decided to use his celebrity status to become a local and national heart health advocate. He has produced documentaries and written a book, Heart to Heart, and made hundreds of appearances for heart health causes.

As part of his recovery from the heart attack, Bruce trained for, and completed the 26.2 mile Marine Corp Marathon.

Bruce is a graduate and noted alumnus of Northern Kentucky University with a degree in Political Science. He has a Master’s Degree in Public Affairs from the University of Cincinnati.