Breaking News
More () »

Washington, DC's Leading Local News: Weather, Traffic, Sports and more | Washington, DC | WUSA9.com

Maryland, Virginia join 16-state lawsuit against Trump over emergency wall declaration

The lawsuit claims there is no emergency at the border and Trump doesn't have the authority to make the declaration.

WASHINGTON, D.C., USA — Maryland and Virginia joined the fight against the border wall Monday night, joining a 16-state lawsuit over President Donald Trump's emergency declaration.

"Concocting a fake emergency to build a needless wall goes against the Constitution and the values America was built on," said Virginia Attorney General Mark Herring in a statement. "President Trump’s ill-advised plan could divert critical funds from actual national security priorities, including military construction projects at bases and facilities throughout Virginia."

In the lawsuit, Virginia argues the state may lose $131.7 million in military construction Trump wants to divert from:

  • The Pentagon
  • Dam Neck
  • Fort AP Hill
  • Fort Belvoir
  • Humphreys Engineer Center
  • Joint Base Langley-Eustis

"There is no justification to declare a national emergency at our southern border," Maryland Attorney General Brian Frosh in a statement. "The basis for President Trump’s declaration is fabricated. It is an illegal power grab and an abuse of executive authority."

Xavier Becerra, California's attorney general, announced the intention to file a lawsuit this week.

Becerra says there is no emergency at the border and Trump doesn't have the authority to make the declaration.

Trump declared a national emergency to fulfill his promise of completing the wall.

The move allows the president to bypass Congress to use money from the Pentagon and other budgets.

California has repeatedly challenged Trump in court. Becerra has filed at least 45 lawsuits against the administration.

Joining California in filing the lawsuit are the attorneys general of Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, and Virginia.