WASHINGTON (WUSA9) — WASHINGTON -- There have been three different versions of this travel ban since the presidential order was first attempted 17 months ago.

There are three things you should know about the supreme court’s recent decision.

What countries does the travel ban affect?

There has been a lot of confusion over the last year and a half about the people impacted by the proposed bans.

Countries have been added to the list, and others have been taken off.

The places affected by the most recent ban and the Supreme Court’s decision are Venezuela, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Iran, Yemen, and North Korea.

RELATED: Supreme Court upholds President Trump's travel ban against majority-Muslim countries

That is seven countries across three different continents.

What does this mean for immediate travel? Does this ban go into effect right away?

In December, the high court temporarily allowed the travel ban to be in full effect while the justices came up with their decision.

Refugees, immigrants, and some people with visas from those seven listed countries were not allowed to enter the United States.

The international airports in the DC-area are still working to sort out what this latest decision might mean for their airports.

A spokesperson for BWI said passengers are advised to check with their airlines and embassies before traveling to any of the affected countries.

No drastic changes are happening right away.

There is not a mass exodus of flight cancellations or chaos at the airports like we have seen in the past.

Airports have operated under the immigration law for the last six months based on the previous Supreme Court decision.

Instead of being temporary, the court ruling makes the ban more permanent.