WASHINGTON (AP) - The Senate has rejected a bipartisan effort to expand federal background checks to more firearms buyers in a crucial showdown over gun control.

Wednesday's vote was a jarring blow to the drive to curb firearms sparked by December's massacre of children and staff at an elementary school in Newtown, Conn. President Barack Obama made broadened background checks the centerpiece of his gun control proposals.

The roll call was also a victory for the National Rifle Association, which opposed the plan as an ineffective infringement on gun rights.

The proposal would have required background checks for all transactions at gun shows and online. Currently they must occur for sales handled by licensed gun dealers.

The system is designed to keep criminals and people with mental problems from getting guns.

Below is a list on how U.S. Senators voted on the Bill:

Vote Counts:YEAs54
Vote SummaryBy Senator NameBy Vote PositionBy Home State

Alphabetical by Senator Name
Alexander (R-TN),Nay Ayotte (R-NH),Nay Baldwin (D-WI),Yea Barrasso (R-WY),Nay Baucus (D-MT),Nay Begich (D-AK),Nay Bennet (D-CO),Yea Blumenthal (D-CT),Yea Blunt (R-MO),Nay Boozman (R-AR),Nay Boxer (D-CA),Yea Brown (D-OH),Yea Burr (R-NC),Nay Cantwell (D-WA),Yea Cardin (D-MD),Yea Carper (D-DE),Yea Casey (D-PA),Yea Chambliss (R-GA),Nay Coats (R-IN),Nay Coburn (R-OK),Nay Cochran (R-MS),Nay Collins (R-ME),Yea Coons (D-DE),Yea Corker (R-TN),Nay Cornyn (R-TX),Nay Cowan (D-MA),Yea Crapo (R-ID),Nay Cruz (R-TX),Nay Donnelly (D-IN),Yea Durbin (D-IL),Yea Enzi (R-WY),Nay Feinstein (D-CA),Yea Fischer (R-NE),Nay Flake (R-AZ),NayFranken (D-MN),Yea Gillibrand (D-NY),Yea Graham (R-SC),Nay Grassley (R-IA),Nay Hagan (D-NC),Yea Harkin (D-IA),Yea Hatch (R-UT),Nay Heinrich (D-NM),Yea Heitkamp (D-ND),Nay Heller (R-NV),Nay Hirono (D-HI),Yea Hoeven (R-ND),Nay Inhofe (R-OK),Nay Isakson (R-GA),Nay Johanns (R-NE),Nay Johnson (D-SD),Yea Johnson (R-WI),Nay Kaine (D-VA),Yea King (I-ME),Yea Kirk (R-IL),Yea Klobuchar (D-MN),Yea Landrieu (D-LA),Yea Lautenberg (D-NJ),Yea Leahy (D-VT),Yea Lee (R-UT),Nay Levin (D-MI),Yea Manchin (D-WV),Yea McCain (R-AZ),Yea McCaskill (D-MO),Yea McConnell (R-KY),Nay Menendez (D-NJ),Yea Merkley (D-OR),Yea Mikulski (D-MD),Yea Moran (R-KS),NayMurkowski (R-AK),Nay Murphy (D-CT),Yea Murray (D-WA),Yea Nelson (D-FL),Yea Paul (R-KY),Nay Portman (R-OH),Nay Pryor (D-AR),Nay Reed (D-RI),Yea Reid (D-NV),Nay Risch (R-ID),Nay Roberts (R-KS),Nay Rockefeller (D-WV),Yea Rubio (R-FL),Nay Sanders (I-VT),Yea Schatz (D-HI),Yea Schumer (D-NY),Yea Scott (R-SC),Nay Sessions (R-AL),Nay Shaheen (D-NH),Yea Shelby (R-AL),Nay Stabenow (D-MI),Yea Tester (D-MT),Yea Thune (R-SD),Nay Toomey (R-PA),Yea Udall (D-CO),Yea Udall (D-NM),Yea Vitter (R-LA),Nay Warner (D-VA),Yea Warren (D-MA),Yea Whitehouse (D-RI),Yea Wicker (R-MS),Nay Wyden (D-OR),Yea
Read or Share this story: http://on.wusa9.com/1iKMOda