Lutz advances at suspended Senior Amateur Championship

Cashiers, NC (Sports Network) - Stroke play medalist Chip Lutz was among those to earn a victory in the opening round of match play at the suspended USGA Senior Amateur Championship.

The second round of stroke play was completed on Monday morning after play was suspended for darkness on Sunday, as the tournament seeks to catch up since play was halted halfway through Saturday's opening round for rain.

The remaining nine matches will wrap up starting at 7:50 a.m. (ET) Tuesday, with the round of 32 scheduled to start at 8:00 a.m.

Lutz birdied three of his first four holes against Mike Peck to quickly build a 4-up advantage and cruised from there en route to his 4 & 3 victory. He will face Paul Schlachter in the round of 32 after Schlachter earned a 2 & 1 decision over James Lehman in his opening match.

The biggest win of the day came from Don Erickson III, who eased past David Holmes, 7 & 5. Robert Parmar was next with a 6 & 5 victory over Larry Daniels, while Buzz Fly and Mike Poe each advanced with 5 & 4 wins over Stephen Sharpe and Mike Greer, respectively.

Hill Adams took a 5 & 3 victory over James Gallagher, and Bev Hargraves downed Michael Mercier 4 & 3, the same margin as Peter Wegmann over Mickey Jones.

Other players to finish their matches on Monday and advance were Robert Valerio, Brady Exber, John Long, Ray Thompson, Rick Cloninger, Bill Leonard, Mike Booker, Daniel Arvanitis, Douglas Hanzel, Jack Hall, Curt Knorr, Patrick Tallent, Allan Small and Edward Steiber.

Exber, Hanzel, Hall and Knorr each needed 19 holes to win their matches.

Defending champion Paul Simson is one of the players who will have to complete their opening match on Tuesday. Simson has a 2-up advantage over Tom Schultz through 15 holes.

Also still facing off against each other on the course are Patrick Duncan and Casey Boyns, Pat O'Donnell and Mike Raymond, Craig Calkins and Michael Turner, David Nelson and Harry Ramirez, David Szewczul and David Schultz, Neil Spitalny and Jim Rollefson, Michael Hughett and Don Donatoni, and Tom Norton and George Zahringer.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment