Redskins coaches under Dan Snyder

During Dan Snyder's 15 years as owner of the Washington Redskins, seven men have roamed the sidelines as head coach of the burgundy and gold.

To date, none have lasted longer than four seasons.

When Snyder bought the team in 1999, he inherited Norv Turner as head coach. Turner would be fired in 2000.

Terry Robiskie took over for Turner, coaching 3 games as the Redskins interim head coach. Marty Schottenheimer would be hired as the replacement, but only lasted one season.

Snyder attempted to make a splash with former Florida Gators legendary coach and current South Carolina Gamecocks leader Steve Spurrier. The "Ol' Ball Coach" lasted only two seasons in Washington before his ouster.

Hoping to restore glory to the franchise, Snyder convinced an all-time great to come out of retirement for a second run with the team. Joe Gibbs, a 3-time Super Bowl champion with Washington, coached the team for four seasons before retiring for good.

Rookie head coach Jim Zorn was hired as Gibbs' replacement in 2008, but was fired after his second season. Current head coach Mike Shanahan took over the helm in 2010.

Coaching Tenures Under Dan Snyder

  • Norv Turner (1999-2000)
  • Terry Robiskie (2000)
  • Marty Schottenheimer (2001)
  • Steve Spurrier (2002-2003)
  • Joe Gibbs (2004-2007)
  • Jim Zorn (2008-2009)
  • Mike Shanahan (2010-2013)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment
More Stories