WUSA 9 Wins 3 Edward Murrow Awards

WASHINGTON (WUSA9) -- Thursday, WUSA 9 won three 2013 Edward R. Murrow awards for Region 12- Large Market TV, which includes D.C., Maryland, Virginia and Delaware. Those awards are for Feature Reporting, Reporting: Hard News, and Reporting: Sports.

WUSA 9 anchor/reporter Lesli Foster, producer Stephanie Wilson, and cameraman/editor Greg Guise won Feature Reporting for "Remembering Pam Basu."

After hearing the news on Thursday, WUSA 9 producer Stephanie Wilson said, "It's an honor to be recognized with this prestigious award. Telling Steve Basu's story was heart wrenching for him, but also healing.

It's always a good feeling when you can do great journalism, work with a fantastic team and give voice to people who may not otherwise have a venue to be heard."

If you'd like to see this story, then you can watch it here: Remembering Pam Basu

Reporter Andrea McCarren, cameraman/editor Dave Satchell, executive producer Samara Martin-Ewing, associate producer Liz Turrell and assistant editor Al Calogerowon Reporting: Hard News with "Six Terrible Seconds: Desaleen James."

Andrea McCarren said, "This was one of the most important stories I've been privileged to report in my 30-year career. Desaleen James, the lone survivor of a fatal car crash involving underage drinking, deserves the credit for this award, since she courageously shared her story so other teenagers would not have to live through the pain and heartache she's endured."

Watch the story here: Six Terrible Seconds: Desaleen James

Finally, anchor/reporter Derek McGinty, producer Ismere Payton, executive producer Samara Martin Ewing and editor Al Calogero won Sports Reporting for "Should College Athletes Profit Too?"

See the award-winning video here: Should College Athletes Profit Too?

Gannett, WUSA 9's parent company, announced 12 of its television stations won a combined 45 regional 2013 Edward R. Murrow awards. KARE in Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN, received 10 awards, the most honored station in the country.

Gannett Overall Excellence award winners were:

KARE in Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN (10 awards)
WGRZ in Buffalo, NY (5 awards)
WBIR in Knoxville, TN (3 awards)

Other winning Gannett stations besides WUSA 9 were:

KUSA in Denver, CO (9 awards)
KSDK in St. Louis, MO (5 awards)
WZZM in Grand Rapids, MI (3 awards)
WXIA in Atlanta, GA (2 awards)
WTSP in Tampa-St. Petersburg, FL (2 awards)
WKYC in Cleveland, OH (1 award)
WLTX in Columbia, SC (1 award)
WMAZ in Macon, GA (1 award)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment