Va. Police learn new rules regarding mopeds

FAIRFAX COUNTY, Va. (WUSA9) -- Mopeds, mini bikes and electric scooters seem to be everywhere on the roads these days and they are posing an increasing danger.

MORE: Tell WUSA9 What is Driving You Crazy about these devices on the roads

Last year in Virginia there were nearly 600 crashes involving these vehicles. Twelve of the accidents were fatal, including one that killed a 17-year-old Fairfax County boy who was riding a moped.

Fairfax County Police held a course Thursday for patrol officers to help understand the difference between these vehicles and the new laws.

If you're riding a moped in Virginia, you must be at least 16-year-old old, have a valid government issued photo ID, wear a helmet and safety glasses.

Mopeds are legally not allowed to go over 35 miles per hour. If they do, they are subject to the same laws as motorcycles, and have a valid license to drive it.

Officers are now enforcing the new laws and giving out information to drivers about the new changes.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment