More than 500 drivers cited for texting in Va.

RICHMOND (WUSA9) -- Virginia is cracking down on people sending texts while driving, since the Commonwealth made it a primary offense mid-summer.

Since July 1, 2013, Virginia State Police have written 567 tickets to people who were sending or attempting to send texts while behind the wheel.

"Driving distracted puts everybody at risk on a highway," said Colonel W. Steven Flaherty, Virginia State Police Superintendent. "According to preliminary data*, driver distraction accounted for 20 percent of all fatal traffic crashes on Virginia's roads in 2013. That accounts for 131 lives lost last year because of a driver failing to pay attention while behind the wheel of a vehicle."

If you get pulled over for sending texts, while driving, in Virginia, it's a $125 fine for the first offense and $250 for every time after that.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment